Rat der Volksbeauftragten (Deutschland) Archives

Period  1918
Total size   0.12 m.
Consultation Not restricted


German provisional revolutionary government established on 10 November 1918, with the Sozialdemokratische Partei Deutschlands (SPD) and Unabhängige Sozialdemokratische Partei Deutschlands (USPD) each providing three members with Friedrich Ebert and Hugo Haase as joint chairmen; the USPD-Volksbeauftragten resigned after a conflict on the use of military force against the Christmas mutiny of revolutionary sailors in Berlin and were replaced by SPD members; the Rat ceased to function when the constituent assembly met in February 1919.


Minutes of the meetings of the Rat der Volksbeauftragten November-December 1918 (typed copies).

These papers were originally part of the historical party-archives of the SPD. The IISH acquired this collection from the SPD in exile in 1938 with financial support of the Centrale Arbeiders-Verzekerings- en Deposito-Bank (the Centrale). The collection, including the papers of Karl Marx, Friedrich Engels, August Bebel, Eduard Bernstein, and Wilhelm Liebknecht, was mentioned in the Annual Report of 1938 (p. 37-42). The contract was signed 19 May 1938.

Processing information

Inventory by Johannes Beermann in 2010

Alternate Form of Material

Published in Quellen zur Geschichte des Parlamentarismus und der politischen Parteien. Erste Reihe: Von der konstitutionellen Monarchie zur parlamentarischen Republik. Im Auftrage der Kommission für Geschichte des Parlamentarismus und der politischen Parteien, hrsg. von Werner Conze und Erich Matthias. Band 6 (Teil I und II): Die Regierung der Volksbeauftragten 1918/19, eingeleitet von Erich Matthias, bearbeitet von Susanne Miller unter Mitwirkung von Heinrich Potthoff, Düsseldorf 1969 .